The Whisky Tasting Club The Whisky Tasting Club
Regions of Scotland

For the benefit of those new to whisky - and Scottish whisky in particular - it is worth thinking of Scotland as divided into six different whisky regions: Speyside; Islay; the Islands; Lowlands; Campbeltown and the Highlands (which itself is divided into North, East, West and Central).

Generally speaking, each of these regions and sub-regions produces its own style of whisky. Nowadays however, distilleries are breaking free of regional straightjackets and producing whiskies reminiscent of other regions; for instance, the Speyside distillery BenRiach now produces a superb range of peated whiskies more commonly associated with the Islands and Islay.

Our Regions Tasting has fine examples of five of the regions.

words by Pat